About Us

Meet the Board of Directors

The RDRWA’s Board of Directors is a multi-sector Board with representatives from different sectors and groups. Directors are elected by the RDRWA membership each year at the RDRWA’s Annual General Meeting and serve a two-year term.

Board positions are organized into six categories/sectors. Each year, individuals and organizations nominate someone from their sector to bring that perspective to the RDRWA Board of Directors. The nomination forms for eligible Board of Director positions are available below. Members are encouraged to seek election to the Board of Directors.

If you are interested in joining the RDRWA Board of Directors, please contact the RDRWA office at (403) 340-7379.

2022/2023 Board of Directors

Board Executive

Kent Dyck – Chairperson

Dan Karran – Vice-Chairperson

JoAnne Volk – Treasurer

Board of Directors

Environment / Stewardship

Helge Nome – Alberta Freshwater Alliance Society

Murray Welch – Medicine River Watershed Society

Agriculture / Business / Industry

JoAnne Volk Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers

Kent Dyck NOVA Chemicals

Mike Gallant Kerr Wood Leidal Associates Ltd

Municipal Government

Kraymer Barnstable- City of Red Deer

Peggy JohnsonMountain View County

Christine Moore Red Deer County

Daryl SwensonSpecial Areas Board

Provincial / Federal / Academic

Dan Karran Olds College 

Robert (Bob) Mills – Individual

Amanda Halawell Alberta Environment & Parks

First Nations / Aboriginal

Thalia Aspeslet – Individual

Member at Large

Adam Minke – Individual

Jim Smith – Individual

Ex-Officio Members

Brandon Leask Alberta Agriculture and Forestry